A Conversation With Artist and Art History Professor Heea Crownfield


A Conversation With Artist and Art History Professor Heea Crownfield

By Sandra Cherry Jones on 3/7/2014 10:47:42 AM Comment on this

Heea Crownfield
This is the first in a series of interviews with artists. Today our artist conversation is with Heea Crownfield who I am happy to have had as my Art Appreciation professor recently.

Sandra:

I know that you are not originally from Washington, North Carolina, so how did your teaching at Beaufort County Community College come about?

Heea:

Prior to moving to Washington, I lived in Greensboro, North Carolina for 20 years while raising my daughter as a single parent. In 2010 my position as a Visiting Assistant Professor of Art at Guilford College ended and I found myself unemployed. I love being near the water so I applied to teach at Beaufort County Community College in 2012 and got the job.

Sandra:

What are the courses that you teach?

Heea:

I am currently teaching Art Appreciation and Art History. I am planning on teaching Two-Dimensional Design in the fall.

Sandra:

What do you like the most about teaching?

Heea:

I love being able to help students view their world and their place in it in a different way. Art can do that. If you have not been exposed to a lot of art, your view is very limited about what it is. It is the same with life. I like to think that I can pull back the curtain a bit and show there is so much more out there, so many ways to think not only  about art but about our own lives and potential.

Sandra:

I know that you are also an artist. What is your favorite medium to work in?

Heea:

My favorite medium is working with non-traditional sculpture materials, including handmade paper pulp and beeswax.

  • Core by Heea Crownfield
  • Self-Accumulating by Heea Crownfield

Sandra:

How would you describe your style?

Heea:

My art is non-traditional and conceptual. I like to think of art making as a way to create my own world and reality.

Sandra:

Who is your favorite artist and why?

Heea:

I don’t think that I can pick just one favorite artist. Some of my favorites are Louise Bourgeois, Kiki Smith, Anselm Kiefer, and Eva Hesse. All four artists are known for using a range of materials and processes. I think this is one of the reasons I am drawn to their work. Another reason is that I find their work to be earthy and spiritual, qualities I seek to evoke in my own work of art.

Sandra:

If you could own one work of art, what would it be and why?

Heea:

It is really difficult to choose one work of art I would want to own. Most of the work I am drawn to is rather large and impractical for the home. If I had the space I would love to have either Anselm Kiefer’s Sol Invictus(Unconquered Sun) or Sternenfall (Falling Stars). Both paintings portray a fiqure lying in a field. One has a large sunflower towering above, head bowed down toward the fiqure. The other has a similar fiqure but with the night time stars and cosmos above. In both, the space is dominated by the space above the fiqure. Something about both paintings inspires a sense of awe in me and relates to our interconnection to the universe.

Sandra:

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

Heea:

I enjoy gardening and walking along the waterfront in Washington. I also love to cook and find cooking to be a great stress reliever.

Leave a Reply

