5 Things I Learned From Painting Electrical Boxes


I was recently asked to paint images on the electrical boxes in my home town. It is part of an effort to turn some of these plain boxes into works of art. Although this public art project is one that has been done in larger cities, it is new for my small town. It has been a wonderful experience but it has not been without its challenges. So what have I learned?

1. I needed to be prepared, in my case, to work in sweltering heat.

2. I needed to remind myself that everyone is not going to like my art. Hey some people actually preferred the dull painted electrical boxes the way that they were. Who knew?

3. I needed to prepare my self for a host of insects that were on the boxes. Actually I think that I discovered new ones that had never been seen.

4. I discovered that I can actually forget to eat a meal. I would become so engrossed in the

project that I would forget to eat a meal. I found that I lost weight without really trying.        Yea!

5. It has taught me to get over my dread of painting in public. It’s wonderful talking with        people and introducing my art to some who ordinarily would not see it. It has been               interesting hearing the stories that they have shared with me, and the interest that            children have shown really made the project well worth the effort.

 

Leave a Reply

